To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before | Jenny Han

Lara Jean, has never openly admitted her crushes, but instead wrote each boy a letter about how she felt, sealed it, and hid it in a box under her bed. But one day Lara Jean discovers that somehow her secret box of letters has been mailed…..

To All the Boys I've Loved Before cover.jpg

Book: To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before
Series: TATBILB #1
Author: Jenny Han
Format: Paperback, 355 pgs
• B&N • Add to GR

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before is the story of Lara Jean, who has never openly admitted her crushes, but instead wrote each boy a letter about how she felt, sealed it, and hid it in a box under her bed. But one day Lara Jean discovers that somehow her secret box of letters has been mailed, causing all her crushes from her past to confront her about the letters: her first kiss, the boy from summer camp, even her sister’s ex-boyfriend, Josh. As she learns to deal with her past loves face to face, Lara Jean discovers that something good may come out of these letters after all.

 

Review:

Image result for to all the boys i've loved before

Talk about an explosion. This book/movie was blowing up all over my social media platforms. I’m talking Twitter, Instagram, blogs, snapchat.. even Facebook like who still uses that regularly.

So, obviously I had to see what all the hype was about. However, I had to be smart about it. I knew that if I got my hands on this book, then I would hate it because it was over hyped. No, no.. I had to wait until people started to slowly forget about it, but not too much so I can find people to chat with in case I loved it. Math.

Related image

Don’t worry, I’m not planning on ruining anything for you. To save us both time, I’m going to list down the things I liked, that don’t worry, are spoiler free.

What I loved:

  • Strong Family Presence, in both the movie and the book.
  • Overall vibe, it was innocent, sweet and without the unnecessary over the top drama. Kind of reminded me of movies from the 80s.. it had that same feel to it. Making it more realistic.
  • The most accurate representation of a teenager to date. Teenagers aren’t as crazy as people make them out to be.
  • The slut shaming was dealt with immediately and appropriately. Like finally! We did not need any of that 13 Reasons Why drama.
  • Representation of different cultures, respectfully. Again, finally.
  • Even though, she sent letters to five boys, none of them were possessive over her.
  • More Importantly, no one made fun of Lara Jean for those letters. None of the boys acted like jerks and sent it to the whole school to embarrass her. You have no idea how relieved I am to see progress in books and movies regarding this. Teach Boys to be RESPECTFUL. Thank you!
  • A Father figure who isn’t distant, and is mindful of his three daughters. Healthy.
  • A girl who didn’t ditch her friend when she got a boy.
  • A boy who was honest with his feelings from the start.

Honestly, the more I kept writing, the more I loved it even more. And let’s talk about how the movie didn’t ruin the book! Netflix.. you Bae!

As promised, short.

Until Next Time,
Bookbye!
7cbb6fdb5ca33bfa9462d8dc8747e3b6

Final Rating:

★★★★

button_chat-me-up

What did you think of this book, have you read anything similar to it? Or do you have any recommendations for me to try? Lets chat, don’t worry, I don’t bite. ^^

FOLLOW ME ON INSTAGRAM: @bookishowlette

if_tumblr_online_social_media_734368if_twitter_online_social_media_734367if_instagram_online_social_media_734394if_online_social_media_facebook_734386if_social_media_logo_amazon_1287345if_online_social_media_google_plus_734388if_social_media_logo_goodreads_1407937if_wordpress_social_media_logo_1813040

SCROLL DOWN FOR MORE POSTS

Leave a comment