Mythical Creatures | Owlcrate Unboxing

When I read that this box is titled, Mythical Creatures, I kind of imagined something along the lines of unicorns. Something sparkly and positive maybe. So, it was a little disappointing when it turned out to be dragons. Not that I hate them, just that I wasn’t expecting them.

Breakdown:

  • Box Theme: Mythical Creatures
  • Box Month: September 2017
  • Category: Young Adult
  • Subscription: Owlcrate

At long last! I got a book box without any drama! Finally!!

If you don’t remember the dramatical play that I’ve been living so far, please don’t hesitate to enjoy my misery Part A, Part B and Part C.

And let me welcome you to the highly anticipated conclusion, Part D.

Well on with the show! I guess.

Owlcrate Unboxing | September ’17

Screen Shot 2017-10-09 at 5.09.55 AM.png

The *goodies* of the box includes:

  • 🦄 A stunning wooden bookmark inspired by Game of Thrones.
  • 🦄 An adorable little canvas coin purse made by OwlCrate! You can never have enough dragons!
  • 🦄 Enjoy a good soak with the Percy Jackson inspired ‘Son of Poseidon’ bath salts.
  • 🦄 A sticker featuring a couple of our all time favourite characters, Hagrid and Buckbeak!
  • 🦄 Exclusive Book sleeve with unicorn and mermaid design!
  • 🦄 And finally, the book pick of the month is Before She Ignites by Jodi Meadows This is a wonderful high fantasy story that’s full of political intrigue, learning to survive and lots and lots of dragons! The writing will suck you in! It features an OwlCrate exclusive cover.
    • Signed bookplate
    • Letter from the author!
    • An additional bonus booklet that is a guide to all the dragons you’ll find in the book!
  • 🦄 For the first time ever, a little magazine that goes into more details about the box!

Screen Shot 2017-10-09 at 5.16.07 AM.png

My Review:

When I read that this box is titled, Mythical Creatures, I kind of imagined something along the lines of unicorns. Something sparkly and positive maybe. So, it was a little disappointing when it turned out to be dragons. Not that I hate them, just that I wasn’t expecting them. Anyway, I realllly love the Book Sleeve! I’ve wanted one for quite some time now, so FINALLY! To be honest, the design wasn’t so great, but it was still perfect for me. My sister is a huge fan of bath salts and Percy Jackson, so ‘Son of Poseidon’ is perfect. Let’s not forget the Mother of Dragons bookmark!! Anything with my Kaleesi on it is brilliant. All in all, not bad.

To Enjoy My Past Bookbox Drama:

Final Rating:

 ★

Dragons, dragons! Burn them all!

button_chat-me-up.png

What do you think of this Owlcrate – Mythical Creatures box,? The book, and the goodies?  Or do you have any recommendations for me to try? Lets chat, don’t worry, I don’t bite. ^^

FOLLOW ME ON INSTAGRAM: @bookishowlette

SCROLL DOWN FOR MORE POSTS

7 thoughts on “Mythical Creatures | Owlcrate Unboxing”

  1. Ohhhhh this looks awesome! I love that book sleeve and I LOVE THAT HAGRID STICKER!! ❤️ Before She Ignites sounds wonderful, I have it on my tbr list and I’ve been super curious about it. I know what you mean about more unicorns though, I’m totally with you. I love dragons, but am DEFINITELY more team unicorn when it comes to mythical creatures.

    Yesterday I just signed up for the next owlcrate! I heard a rumor that there’s going to be a Raven Cycle related item and that was all I needed to hear. TAKE MY MONEY! 😂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you!! Do you own any book sleeves? This one is my first, although I’m a little bummed when I realized some of my books dont fit in it! Also, do you have a copy of the book, Before she ignites? I’m just about to start reading it now, so I’m excited. And Unicorns right! I was soo disappointed.
      Is this your first time signing up for owlcrate?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. No I don’t have any! Although I should really get some. I always shove books in my Mary Poppins purse and then curse myself later when my books come out beat up. Gah! But that’s a bummer it doesn’t fit all your books though!! I don’t have a copy of the book yet, but I really want one. The blurb sounded really good and I’ve heard some good things, so I’m curious to hear what you think! And yes it is my first!! I’ve never gotten an owlcrate before but I keep seeing awesome things about it. Any excuse to get more book stuff!

        Liked by 1 person

        1. That is the worst feeling, right! Trusting ur books with ur purse and then getting betrayed! BTW cool Mary Poppins purse! That’s awesome!

          Anyway, it really is annoying when u have something for a certain purpose but then it fails doing its own job, like the book sleeve. It’s like why do I even have you!

          As for Before She Ignites, I just finished reading it and it was a bit disappointing. I won’t ruin what happens for u, but it wasn’t that great. You’re not really missing anything if u don’t read it.

          Congratz on ur first ever owlcrate!!! I hope it turns out to be something amazing for you! ❤

          Like

Leave a comment